Our campuses

The University of Melbourne consists of seven campuses, including the main campus in Parkville, Southbank in the city, Burnley, Creswick, Dookie, Shepparton and Werribee. Detailed information about campuses is available.

What does the campus look like?

Our largest campus is in Parkville, just a few minutes from the centre of the City of Melbourne.

The Parkville campus is situated within a renowned knowledge precinct, which includes eight hospitals, many leading research institutes and a wide range of knowledge-based industries.

The Southbank campus hosts the Faculty of Fine Arts and Music. Centrally located in the hub of Melbourne’s cultural and arts precinct, the campus sits alongside the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Theatre Company, Melbourne Recital Centre, The Australian Ballet, Chunky Move dance company, the Arts Centre and the Australian Centre for Contemporary Art.

Our Burnley campus is dedicated to environmental and ornamental horticulture, with nine hectares of heritage-listed gardens.

Our Creswick campus is Australia's only dedicated forest ecosystem science campus, focusing on conservation, forest industry and molecular biology research.

At Dookie, studies and research centre around agriculture, as well as hosting students studying the Diploma in General Studies.

The Shepparton Medical Centre campus specialises in rural health and clinical education, and we also have a Veterinary Hospital campus in Werribee.

    Self-guided tours

    Self-Guided Tour maps for the Parkville campus are available to collect at the University Information Centre. They provide valuable information about the buildings on-campus and the map provides you with a suggested tour route to follow.

    Self-Guided Tours can be conducted any time of the year and take around 40 minutes.

    Safety on campus

    We believe that everyone should feel safe while on campus. Our Safer Community Program offers support and advice about safety around campus and personal safety in general.